Re: New CDC COVID Guidance 🖕🏻

CDC loosens coronavirus guidance, signaling strategic shift - The Washington Post:

The new recommendations signal that the Biden administration and its medical advisers have decided that the lower fatality rate from covid-19 in a heavily vaccinated population permits a less demanding set of guidelines.

Washington Post

A lower fatality rate isn’t as big of a deal, huh? Tell that to a family member of the dearly departed. Or to the husband of an organ transplant recipient whose immune system is severely compromised.

This isn’t a “strategic move.” It’s a cop out, and it’s probably political. You know, I trusted the CDC to act in the public’s best interest. In my and my husband’s best interests. But clearly they just want everyone to keep calm and carry on. Put on our big boy pants and get back to work.

It makes me sick to my stomach. I KNOW an asshole in my workplace who’s had COVID at least twice and still refuses to get vaccinated or wear a mask. Last time he was exposed to it, he had the privilege of working from home for a few extra days while the rest of us schlepped in to the office. And he wouldn’t have stayed home if I hadn’t reported his ass to HR. His wife, who fucking works in healthcare, had it. Or at least she assumed she had it because she refused to get tested and wouldn’t isolate. She spent an entire day, sick at work, training a class full of people. And the CDC wants to put more onus on the individual? Do you know how many stupid individuals there are out there? How many self-centered, careless, freedom lovin’ no mask wearin’ Trump defending individuals there are? All living in high risk COVID areas?

Idiots at the Ohio Statehouse from a few summers ago when the pandemic was soaring and stay at home orders had been issued.

Turns out, a lot.

And I don’t trust them to wear a mask. I don’t trust them to follow what little shred of guidance is left from the CDC’s “strategic” shift. I don’t want them around me or my husband. But oh well, we’re just going to have to live with it. 🤬🤬🤬

From my perspective, this decision is unwise, uncaring, and unnecessary.