Ohio’s BBI

On Friday, Governor DeWine announced he is enhancing his Bold Beginning Initiative to remove barriers to health care, ease financial burdens, and support parents.

“I have a vision for Ohio to be the best place in the nation to have a baby and raise a family," said Governor DeWine. (Translation: I have a vision to force Ohio women to stay in Ohio and have children whether they want to or not.)

“As a father of eight and grandfather of 26, I know that each pregnancy is different, and each family is unique.” (Translation: I’ll pretend like I’m sympathetic towards individual circumstances, even though I actually think vaginas are like clown cars 🤡 Beep! Beep!)

With Bold Beginnings: Healthy, Supported Families, Ohio will provide even more options and supports that can be tailored to each family’s needs, while providing assistance to mothers most at-risk for poor outcomes, to help them as they begin or add to their family. (Translation: If I make it sound like we have existing support structures in place by using the phrase “even more options” people will realize they’ve got it good here. Also, I refuse to say the word “choices.”)

The research is clear, ensuring babies and their parents are safe and supported during pregnancy and the eaily years helps children succeed later in life. (Translation: See? I can science because research!)

I want to see all children have the opportunity to succeed." (Translation: Make America great again. Also, fertilized eggs count as human, but not for tax purposes, and we’re banning IVF next.)

Emphasis and translations: mine. Outright lies: his.