First Concert Post-Pandemic

My first post-pandemic show was supposed to be Tori Amos, who was also my first concert ever, but I didn’t go. The theater had just decided to loosen their safety precautions and no longer was going to require proof of vaccination. I decided I didn’t want to breathe the same air as Tori Amos fans (who are really nuts these days, by the way) and sent a nasty-gram email to the theater for changing their policy.

THEN my first post-pandemic show was supposed to be Kristin Hersh, who was also my last pre-pandemic show, so that would’ve been a nice bookend moment. But, she played a small, intimate venue and again, people, same air, I couldn’t do it.

Well tonight, we are celebrating my husband’s 2-year double lung transplant anniversary, and we’re seeing my favorite band, Over the Rhine, at a beautiful, old theater in Ohio. I picked balcony seats to be as removed from the masses as possible. We’ve got a nice view and the show will be a lovely one, I’m sure. 🎵

Although, I’m glad I brought my handkerchief to wipe my brow because the heat is risin’ in here! Whew! 🥵