Do Better,  Music

My kingdom for a better library management solution than Apple Music!

601 songs (of about 20,500) have somehow turned into “Apple Music” songs in the cloud, instead of “iTunes Matched” songs in the cloud. Makes it as if I don’t really own them. But when I play one, it duplicates itself to the iTunes Matched version. So then I have to delete the Apple Music version.

Also, now there are tons of songs I. KNOW. I. DIDN’T. ADD to my library showing up as Apple Music songs in the cloud. The weirdest things is a lot of this happened on 2/7/23 at 7:16 AM. I have no idea what the hell happened, but there are hundreds of songs with that as the “date modified” date. And I don’t want to Time Machine my way out of it because ugh.

I was on tech support, bounced around four times between Apple Music support and Mac support (neither wanted to claim, so they literally transferred me back and forth twice) for hours yesterday. We built a new library which solved one issue: songs showing up as PDFs (don’t get me started on that), but the “solution” for my current issue is a manual one. Plus I don’t think the physical files I’d ripped are associated with this new library. It’s so frustrating when all they can ultimately do is shrug their shoulders. But once you’re in their ecosystem and things “just work” so well together…

Do better, Apple Music.