HowToGeek.com? More Like HowToLoseWebTraffic.biz

Me: How do I geek this thing?

DuckDuckGo: HowToGeek.com knows how to geek that thing!

HowToGeek.com: I know how to geek that thing!

Me: Great! taps

HowToGeek.com: Uh-oh! Looks like you’re using an ad-blocker! You need to turn it off to see anything I have to offer. And there’s a lot, too. Tutorials, reviews, articles. I’m delicious and I can tell you how to geek that thing you were asking about.

Me: grumbles whitelists site in 1Blocker

HowToGeek.com: flashes content briefly, like a pervert in a trench coat covers content quickly with a pop-under Uh-oh! Looks like you’re either still using an ad-blocker, or a VPN, or you’re blocking third party cookies, or you’re doing something we don’t know what it is but it’s not letting us track you or build a profile on you or sell to the highest bidder without you ever seeing a dime. Could you disable it please?

Me: angrily blacklists site in 1Blocker