And That’s Why You Always Leave a Note

“Whassa matter, Garfield? Cat gotcher tongue?”

I chuckled when I had that thought.

It calmed me down from being angry at whatever IT pro did this while finally installing some light cable management at my desk and who didn’t leave a note.

At least they set it aside and didn’t like, stomp on it some more.

And they carefully placed this beautiful, broken paperweight right next to my semi-sacrilegious calendar which I LOVE hanging here at the downtown state owned office tower.

For February’s design it has a large, intentionally pixelated picture of Jesus, his hands thoughtfully hovering over the opening in his chest that leads to his sacred heart (and who know where it leads - heaven? A vacant shopping mall? Who really knows for sure?).

At the same time he’s holding a bouquet of long stem red roses in one hand and a floating, red, heart-shaped Mylar balloon in the other. He looks both peaceful and confused.

The caption reads, “Ah Jesus Christ, you shouldn’t have!”

AND THAT’S WHY YOU ALWAYS LEAVE A NOTE

P. S. If anyone asks and offers to pay for a replacement I’m going to say this was a rare vintage piece that I paid $80 for, but I’m willing to go down as far as $75 to cover the cost of replacement. (I am pretty sure I paid like six dollars for it.)

Matthew @UndamnedOne