Brigade by Heart

Brigade by Heart

Brigade

Heart

My cousin, Jessica, loaned me this album, another one by Heart (self-titled one with These Dreams), and a couple Cher CDs when I was a teenager. Doing so influenced me and my musical taste in a great way that I didn’t realize at the time. I’m not a Heart super fan - I only have a couple of their albums and am pretty much familiar with only their hits - but I feel like Ann Wilson’s voice doesn’t get enough recognition for being the best female voice in rock n roll, which it entirely is. I heard on the radio yesterday that she’s having surgery for cancer and, I think, going through chemotherapy. A shame. I hope she pills through. “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love To You” is such great song that I still sing along with. My favorite song here, though, is “The Night.” I remember getting the cassette single for “Secret” with the b-side “I Love You” after borrowing Brigade from my cousin. Later, I got their live album on tape. Somewhere along the way a friend gave me a copy of Little Queen on cassette. I don’t remember if it was before or after Brigade. I think maybe before because I think I was pretty young.