Duets by Barbra Streisand

Duets by Barbra Streisand

Duets

Barbra Streisand

I don’t remember the first time I heard/watched the Happy Days Are Here Again/Get Happy duet that Judy Garland and Barbara Streisand did, but I know I felt like I was witnessing one of the best performances ever caught on film. I love the way their voices blend and sound like one at the end. And there was a sort of tragic optimism watching Judy Garland perform knowing some of the things she had been through and struggled with. Her voice would and could not be denied, struggles be damned. It’s an incredible performance by two insanely talented women that I wish more people knew about. Sometimes I wake up and that’s the song I want to hear. This morning was such a morning. And every time I listen to it, I marvel at it and feel grateful for its existence. It really is that good of a performance.

Haven’t really listened to the rest of this album, though. Besides No More Tears, of course. More people should know about that song, too.