Last Splash by the Breeders

Last Splash by The Breeders

Last Splash

The Breeders

Andy was right. This is an album that you have to listen to from start to finish whenever you play it. Andy is always right about music. He’s shaped my musical taste in a tremendous way. I’m pretty sure he knows that. I hope so, anyway. When I met him, I was very Lilith Fair good, rock music meh it’s too loud and also screaming. He opened my eyes and ears to hear what beauty there can be in dissonance, what meaning there can be in noise, and what messy brilliance can exist when the right chords and words and rhythm collide.

If you haven’t done it in a while, give this album a listen from start to finish, and pay close attention. I guarantee, especially in this 30th anniversary edition, you’ll hear nuance you’d never noticed before.